Control of the Union

The South African Post Office Union’s decision making structures comprise the following bodies and Postal Workers, no individual will make decisions on his own:

  1. Shop steward Committees at the workplace
  2. BOB Branch Office Bearer
  3. BEC Branch Executive Committee
  4. BC Branch Congress
  5. ROB Regional Office Bearer
  6. REC Regional Executive Committee
  7. RC Regional Congress
  8. NOB National Office Bearer
  9. NEC National Executive Committee
  10. CEC Central Executive Committee
  11. NC National Congress

The powers of these structures are defined in this Constitution. Subject to this constitution, a decision of a higher structure is binding on all lower structures falling under its jurisdiction.

A lower structure may not decide anything that conflicts with the policies or decisions of a higher structure.